Everyone has a Story— and Mine is the Most Important One(to me.)

maxresdefault

n.the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own—populated with their own ambitions, friends, routines, worries and inherited craziness—an epic story that continues invisibly around you like an anthill sprawling deep underground, with elaborate passageways to thousands of other lives that you’ll never know existed, in which you might appear only once, as an extra sipping coffee in the background, as a blur of traffic passing on the highway, as a lighted window at dusk.

7,310,849,165, the world’s current population.

324,674,311, the United States’ current population.

39,000,000, California’s population.

3,800,000, Los Angeles’ population.

With every beating heart comes a life, an experience, and memory, and a lasting effect on everyone and thing around them. In a world where you are the main character of your own story and everyone around you is a supporting character, we forget that the everyone has a story of their own, has a family of their own, and has a life of their own. We forget that they are the main character of their own story.

However, no matter what, I am the most important character in my own story. And that’s a way it shall be forever and always. So instead of the previous definition of the word, I shall interpret it in my own little way.

sonder: n. Everyone has a storyand this is mine.

Fetus Years: I was a fetus doing all sorts of fetus-like things.

Schoolhood: I haven’t shyed from the topic before in previous blogposts so instead of regurgitating all the information again, feel free to take a look back at it.

Family: I have two brothers, one older and one younger, as well as both my parents in my immediate family. Unlike many of the stereotyped “Asian Parents,” my parents have grown to be pretty chill. By chill I mean I don’t have a sleepy time and they make me dinner most days. And according to a lot of people around me, I am a family person meaning, I see and hang with my family(extended included) just about everyday.

Friends: My friends are almost equally important to me as my family are, but ya know, family first and always. I spend almost everyday with most of the closer friends and even the ones I don’t hang out with everyday, I can consider being pretty close to.

The following were just some pretty general things about me so it’s time to get a little more in detail.

When I was a young baby, aged not even 1 yet. My grandpa had passed away. Of course being the little baby I was it had little to no effect on me what so ever. I never really thought about it that much until a couple years ago my uncle has passed away, and I still had the same response. I felt just about little to nothing.

The difference between the two occurrences was my age and understanding. Being older, I was able to see the despair of loss around me and not just crying cause I was hungry or had just pooped. I wondered to myself, why is it that my cousins, the same age as I, the same interests as I, the same family as I, was experiencing so much pain while I was not.

And then it hit me, the uncle who had died, had little to no impact on my life. I mean we were family, but I spent more time with his children, my cousins, than I did with him. I didn’t learn anything from him and I didn’t gain anything from him. That’s why I didn’t feel that same despair. From this point on, I truly understood what being a “selfish human” meant.

“Human beings are the most selfish species in this universe. You see, even when someone dies we weep, not for the sake of being sad, but mourn the fact that the person is not here to give us what they once were able to give.”

As a member of the human race how true is this quote. If we were not such selfish creatures, then why do we mourn the way we do. That day I did not shed a tear because that man, my uncle, did not do anything significant for me, as he had done for his own family, his own children. That day I realized that everyone has a story.

My uncle has a story that I did not partake in. But he was the main character of his own story. His own fetus story, his own school life, his own family, and his own friends. I realized that in his mind, my life meant little compared to his own.

Imagine now, of the over seven billion people in this world, everyone has their own childhoods, families, and friends. Perhaps its the Chilean miners of the 2010 news headlines or the victims of the earthquakes in Nepal or of Hurricane Katrina. All of them have or had a life of their own. So what is mine compared to theirs. What impact have they made on my life or vise versa. In this giant world, what is the importance of a person? How does one person, from one planet, in one solar system, in one galaxy, in one never ending space, have any importance at all? That is because, it is your life, and you are the most important thing in your world.

Vivian

One thought on “Everyone has a Story— and Mine is the Most Important One(to me.)

  1. Reblogged this on whatiseeiswhatiknow and commented:
    Your own story.

    Everyone has them. Thor, that girl sipping her tea at a Barnes and Noble, your math teacher, your boss, your mother… A story in which the pages are written with their life’s journey and bound by life and death. A story that can be shared with the world or hidden for a thousand years.

    Your own story.

    Is that not the most important thing to anyone in their own lifetime?

    Of course it is the most important thing to you. You are the hero of your own story. You then have the friends and family and then you have the outer circle of acquaintances and the extras. From everyday activities to monumental achievements within your own life, your story grows day by day and page by page…

    So, does this sort of thing interest you? Make you want to find out if there’s even a word for it? Then take a careful look at this beautifully crafted blog post about one’s own discovery of a person story and how they will forever remember that they are the hero of their own personal story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

