Stuck Between a Rock and Another Rock

So, it’s a hot summer, I’m outside holding some gross, sweaty tennis racket, my dad is complaining about how much I absolutely suck, and I’m trying to hit. Yeah, thanks Dad. After nagging him back, I hit the ball, and it kind of…doesn’t make it to the other side. There are sighs from both of us as the sun continue to beat down on my exhausted shoulders. No bueno. He says, “Y’know what, let’s go get some ice cream. It’s way too hot for this…”

gross

That is the feeling that would be described as, “being stuck between a rock and a hard place” but more…stuck. I realize that everyone, even the perfect people (Beyoncé) go through this phase. It’s horrible, frustrating, painful for you and everyone that is trying to help you, and tiring. I believe that if you truly try to accomplish a task with all the effort you have and only focus on that, you will ultimately fail. Unless—and this is the unless that has changed my life probably ten times—you switch things up. You know, I’m sure there are people who are shaking their heads or are already moving their mouse to close the tab, but I have scientific proof. Einstein stated, “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 10.47.22 PM

Naming the files is actually more of a rant time for me.

Some people are too focused on what they’re trying to accomplish. Some people are too stubborn to change their ways. Some people (me) forget that there’s a world outside of what they’re trying to accomplish. Fact: Staying up until 4AM working on art has taught me many things, like the necessity of sleep.

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 9.56.43 PM

#teamphotoshop

After our little ice cream break, my mom called my uncle, who decided to join us. My uncle, who plays practically every sport—varsity swimmer in high school—was going to help me, the girl who can barely serve a tennis ball. mehhh

We went to his favorite tennis playing spots and he made me practice hitting a few times. Then he said, “Why don’t you try playing right-handed?” I’m actually left-handed and everyone knew this, so hearing this threw me off. Why should I play right handed? Reflexes aren’t as good, that hand isn’t as strong, I’m not used comfortable using my right side, there were all sorts of reasons. He tells me just to believe in him and test it out. Thanks to him, I am now a mediocre tennis player.

-Ashley

5 thoughts on “Stuck Between a Rock and Another Rock

  1. I love the fact that you wrote about “switching things up”. I can definitely relate to what your convey through this blog post. I agree that so many people are so focused on what they’re trying to accomplish that they forget that sometimes, you have to look at it a different way. Beautifully written and beautifully put.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: This One Girl | Walking On The Moon

  3. Pingback: Photoshop 101: Minimalism | A Cluster of Ideas

  4. Reblogged this on I'm Not A Xue and commented:
    Stuck between a situation, a person, or anything in general is a horrible phase that sadly, everyone, has to go through. This amazing post outlines the fact that sometimes you just have to switch it up and try new things. People are too focused on what they’re trying to accomplish and are too stubborn to change their ways. But how will you expect anything to change if you just repeat the same thing over and over again? Breaking these boundaries,stepping out of your comfort zone, and looking at things through a different perspective is what life is all about. Because the biggest risk is the one you don’t take.

    Like

Leave a Reply

