Recipe: Tiramisu

It was during a summer party, a few years back, at my cousin’s house, when I first tasted this delicious dessert. I didn’t know what it was. It was the first time I had seen this type of dessert. When I went home. I asked my mom what kind of dessert it was and she told me she would call my cousin. A few days later, she told me it was called Tiramisu. I looked it up online and it just looked like a beautiful dessert. I asked my mom if she could get the recipe. She did.

Making tiramisu is fairly easy and requires no baking (oven). I have probably made it with my sister at least 5x already and every time people give compliments on it. Tiramisu is a dessert where lady finger biscuits are soaked in coffee, milk, chocolate, and rum (optional) mixture and layered. The cream is then layered onto the biscuit layer and the process is repeated.

Untitled-2

Step 1:

Gather all your ingredients. Some ingredients, mascarpone cheese and lady fingers biscuit, may be difficult to find. But, other than those, the other ingredients should be pretty easy to find.

Untitled-1

Step 2:

Add 1 tablespoon of gelatin into a small bowl and add enough water to cover. In this recipe, we do not need the egg whites but we do need the egg yolks for part of the cream. Separate the egg yolks from the egg whites. Add the egg yolks into a saucepan along with the 1/2 cup of sugar. Warm up 1/2 cup of milk in the microwave (about 1 minute) and add in as well. Stir until thickens.

Untitled-3

Step 3:

In a mixing bowl, add 473 mL or 1 pint of heavy whipping cream and whisk (hand held or machine) until fluffy and add all of the mascarpone cheese (1 container). The mixture should reach soft peaks.

Untitled-3

Step 3:

Add the gelatin into the mixture in the saucepan and mix. After rest the saucepan into a cold water bath to cool down until its room temperature.

Step 4:

Add the mixture from the saucepan into the mixing bowl that has the cream. Whisk or mix until all combined. Refrigerate the mixing bowl containing the completed cream.

Step 5:

In a regular bowl, add two soup spoons or to taste of the following:

Milk, coffee, chocolate syrup, and rum (optional). Mix and taste. Add more of any ingredients to your tasting. This will be the mixture you dip the lady fingers into.

Step 6:

With a casserole dish ready, start dipping the lady fingers into the coffee mixture and lay out layers on the bottom of the casserole dish. Add layers of cream and repeat the process. Other options to assembling this would be plastic cups, mini plastic cups, or anything you want to put the tiramisu in.

Step 7:

You can either refrigerate the tiramisu and decorate it later or decorate right after you finish. You can use anything. In my case, I just used unsweetened chocolate powder.

Finally. The final product is a delicious tiramisu dust with chocolate powder. This usually feeds 5 people for 3-5 days. This must be refrigerated to keep it from spoiling.


I hope you guys enjoyed this recipe. I might continue to upload recipes for other desserts or dish.

-Victoria

*Edit* sorry about the last few pictures, it got deleted from the wordpress image file and I don’t have the pictures anymore.

One thought on “Recipe: Tiramisu

Leave a Reply

