Some People are Mossier than Others

ASfbh

If there is one thing I’ve learned in my short and slightly boring life, it’s that I really want to do a lot. Not for the reason of being able to do them, but for the reason of being able to say that I did them. Not sure exactly what I mean? Here’s an example—the idea of being a polyglot, or a person who is able to speak and understand a variety of languages, sounds extremely satisfying, but learning a language is hard, and I’m not into the whole ‘hardworking’ scene. And that’s just ONE, imagine the list. Sports, instruments, art, singing, etc, etc. There’s so much that would be super super cool to do, but it would just take so much time and effort that I’m sure I don’t want to invest in.

Now I’ve thought about this a lot. If I started now, then I would achieve my goal much quicker. However at the same time, I really just want to sleep most of the time. This is where my dilemma stems. I really don’t want to start anything, but I really do at the same time. I like the long term results, but I don’t fancy the long term commitments.

HOWEVER, above all else I feel like there are a few things in my life worth working for. School and art. I find myself extremely dedicated to get good grades despite knowing and understanding the fact the school does not and will not ever define me. It’s just the idea of getting a white gown(you get one by getting and overall GPA of 4.0 or higher) just pleases me like nothing else can. Being able to play the violin is a great achievement to me. (Just be aware that be able to is not the same as being skilled at) There’s also the hardest thing I’ve attempted and that’s my attempt at being good at drawing. Countless apps, folders, programs, technologies, and pencil dedicated to me not being terrible at drawing. And today I can proudly say that I suck a little less at it.

11016566_948379408520539_2062036157_n

About 1/20 of all my hardships in improving

But my suckiness at art is not what I wanted to share today. I spent countless years trying to better my talents with only the sad comparison of those much more experienced than me to show for. I mean, I may not be the best but at least I’m still going at it, right? I’m improving every day by drawing every day and no matter how terrible it may seem, it will always be better than what I could have achieved back when I just began. And ALL that I’ve achieved, would never have been possible if I had not started on my art adventure on that weathery day some time ago. And I gotta say, it was quite a while ago.

-Vivian

One thought on “Some People are Mossier than Others

  1. Pingback: You Just Leveled Up!!! Skill lvl. +++ | A Cluster of Ideas

Leave a Reply

