Love em or Hate em, Gotta Deal with em

1822156

Family. Love em or hate em, gotta deal with em either way. Now listen, I looooove my family—if you were to ask any of my close friends, almost all of them would say I’m 100% family-oriented. However, on that same note comes expectations and with those expectations follows the shattering of my steel heart. My metaphorical steel heart at least.

 

I always rant to my few friends about it and as expected, I always get the same response, “Oh, they’re just doing it because they love you and want to see you succeed in life.” That reasoning can only take a person so far. I understand parents, you love me and want me to live my life to the fullest, but you fail to realize how the stress kills me. That’s only with my parents, believe it or not, it gets WORSE.

 

Lets focus on the previously mentioned, WORSE situation. Family gatherings. Love em or hate em, gotta deal with em. That said, my entire party experience is basically ruined when the words: school, grades, college, or future come up. It’s like that’s the only thing all my uncles and aunts care about. AND THEN they get even deeper with figuring out what to major, where I plan on applying for scholarships, starting studies earlier, taking SAT prep classes, where I plan on going to college, where I plan on applying for college, why I’m not more active in clubs, why I’m not a child violin prodigy, and worst of all, confiscating my computer as to not distract me from hitting top 20 students in the class of 2017. Just thinking about it makes me so—AUGH (insert actual tears).

 

Listen here parents, uncles, aunts, and any other family members that hate the thought of my happiness, I am still YOUNG. I still got places to see, things to do, foods to eat, people to meet, games to play, languages to learn, drinks to taste, and most importantly… I still have a life to live. The moment you realize and accept this fact is the moment when you finally trust me enough to take care of myself.

-Vivian

Leave a Reply

