Un-Expect the Expected

Imagine Michelangelo in front of a blank slate of material ready to carve another masterpiece. He plans and prepares but no matter what, the outcome is always expected to be beautiful, grandeur, and inspiring. Like this, children are born and raised.

I have never heard of an occasion where a parent has not set expectations for their children, honestly, I feel like its reached a point where you’re not good until you’re better than everyone else. I mean, I love my parents and I know they love me, but sometimes its incredibly stressful just hearing about how I should start picking up my game and preparing for my future. Listen mom and dad, I appreciate your worry, but telling me about it a bajillion times and complaining about how I don’t care enough is not motivating nor is it at all helpful. It’s just plain stressful.

The worst part is that it’s not even only them! Uncles, aunts, cousins, all of them! They do not and can not understand that I am only in high school and that I just want to live my life with the few things that make me happy and relieve my stress.

To get down to the nitty-gritty details, I enjoy playing games as they allow me to meet my introverted needs and they let me have fun and escape the stress of my reality(reality=school, homework, clubs, etc). HOWEVER, my family absolutely refuses to believe that it is useful to me in anyway. My cousins have actually insulted me about how I am ‘supposed’ to be doing something useful and not playing some stupid game. I mean really?

Example two! My aunts are constantly insulting me about how I will never get married and have a family because I act to ‘aggressive’ and not polite enough. They also pound on me for not being able to do all the chores in the house, to cook for the family, and to care about my appearance, ALL while maintaining a minimum of a 4.5 GPA. I don’t even know how to react to that and frankly, I don’t really care! I MEAN REALLY FAMILY??? I AM NOT EVEN A LEGAL ADULT AND YOU ARE TELLING ME THAT I SHOULD BE THINKING ABOUT BEING MARRIED AND COOKING FOR MY FUTURE CHILDREN?!?!? Honestly, I love you guys but you need to stop.

tl;dr: When I go to a family gathering, I don’t want my worth to be equivalent to my GPA.

Pain

#Reality


-Vivian

2 thoughts on “Un-Expect the Expected

    • Woah~! The power of video games is mind boggling. My list of reasons why I should prioritize games over school is growing @v@. (Not sure if happy or not actually gonna finish my homework tonight, but I think I’m gonna be happy.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

