Gay Marriages: Yes or No?

In the world there are many issues going on such as feminism and people just can’t seem to agree with each other about that topic. The topic for today is should gay marriages be allowed? My answer to this question is YES, gay marriages should be allowed.

First argument against gay marriage is it may lead to more children being raised in same-sex households, which are not an optimum environment because children need both a mother and father. Firstly, in the website where it contains this argument, it is said “that girls who are raised apart from their fathers are reportedly at higher risk for early sexual activity and teenage pregnancy.” But in my opinion, just because a girl is born within a lesbian marriage, doesn’t mean that she had good education. If that girl who was born into a gay family engages into early sexual activity and pregnancy, all of a sudden it’s the two mother’s fault for not providing her with a male influence on her? So what if the girl who was born within a family that consists of a mother and a father engages into early sexual activity and pregnancy, is it her fault or the parents? It would be rational if you said it was the girl’s fault because she should be the one choosing her own decisions either born into a gay family or straight. Another argument from the same topic is children without a mother are deprived of the emotional security and unique advice that mothers provide. Father’s of those children can also give the sense of emotional security and unique advice that mother’s give out as well.

Second argument against gay marriage is that gay marriages does not create a family but a naturally sterile union. Within this topic and example that the website provided is that same-sex “marriage” is intrinsically sterile. If the “spouses” want a child, they must circumvent nature by costly and artificial means or employ surrogates. If a gay couple wanted a child, they could just adopt a child rather than employing a surrogate. But then people argue that once the kid grows up, then they won’t have a blood-relationship with their parents. In my opinion if I was in this situation, I would also feel pretty sad about not having a blood-relationship with my parents but just because I don’t have a blood-relationship with them doesn’t mean their aren’t my parents. I wouldn’t stay sad because by law, they are my legal guardian and they worked hard to support me and raise me to be who I am. So why does that make gay marriages so bad? Just because gay couples, can’t reproduce by themselves doesn’t mean that its not done naturally. Plus, when they adopt, that kid is finally able to have a family of his own and get a better education then what they could have gotten at the orphanage.

“All men are created equal”


Now I wish I continue to express my opinion on how gay marriages should be allowed but I think I’ll leave it for another time. So for now, to be continued.

-Victoria

Leave a Reply

