F A T E

“Accept the things to which fate binds you, and love the people with whom fate brings you together,but do so with all your heart.” ― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

What is FATE? Fate is a predetermined course of events. It may be conceived as a predetermined future, whether in general or of an individual. It is a concept based on the belief that there is a fixed natural order to the cosmos. Fate defines events as ordered or “inevitable” and unavoidable. People use fate to say things like, “Fate must have brought you guys together.” or maybe “You were fated to be here.”

So my essential questions for the time I was reading The Oedipus Cycle is about fate, “Is fate present in the world and is it controlling our every move and its outcome?”

Examples include Sophocles and his play, The Oedipus Cycle, how people perceive fate, and how fate is present in the world; love, death, and action

Sophocles uses fate in his play Oedipus Cycle. Sophocles wrote that Oedipus’ fate was to kill his father. So his parents made sure he wouldn’t by sending him away to another kingdom. Once Oedipus found about this fate, he ran away from his current home back to his parents’ (though he did not know) he ended up getting into a brawl with this man, who is later revealed to be his father, and killing him. So fate was present in this story and Oedipus could not have avoided his fate of killing his father.

  

Another example of fate is when a boy who is dating a girl think that “she” is the one and that he is going to marry her. Him meeting her would have been fate because you can’t control who you meet. You just happen to meet each other by fate. It was unavoidable that they would not meet. Same guy, different scenario; he dating the girl who he is deeply in love with but he ends up losing interest in her. He breaks it off and finds another girl who he ends up dating and marrying. Why is it that he did not marry the first girl? Maybe because he was fated to meet the other girl and marry her rather than the first girl he thought was the “one”. It was unavoidable that he would break off with the first girl and meet the other girl.

In Romeo and Juliet, fate is what decided their journey and their outcome. Romeo was fated to meet Juliet as she was fated to meet him. They were fated to fall in love and go through their tough journey. Was it free will that made him meet her? He couldn’t control whether he met her. If he had chosen not to go to the Capulet’s party, they maybe his choice was his fate. Vice versa, he chose to go to the Capulet’s party which was probably fate rather than free will.

People say, “I don’t believe in fate.” People who say this think that they have free will and that they are able to control every move and outcome of the day because they are intelligent and that they are able to picture the outcome. But everything in the world that you say you can control the outcome, how do you know it wasn’t fated that you would be picturing the outcome and picking that outcome. An example would be, you are deciding whether or not you want mint chocolate chip cookie ice cream or sea salt caramel ice cream and then you picture your outcome. Wasn’t it fate that made you picture the outcome. You then choose the mint chocolate chip cookie ice cream because of the image of the outcome that happen to be fate at work.

Another example would be, you’re on a path and all of a sudden the path breaks into three different paths; the right path, the left path, and the middle path. You don’t know where to go and your conscience says you should pick any path you want and that you will still be the one controlling the outcome. So you end up picking the road on the right rather than the middle or the left. Are you sure that you were the one controlling your outcome? Or was it just fate that you would pick that specific road and the outcome that comes along with it.

“If people know that they are fated to die, why do they try their very best to stall achieving that outcome.” People try to avoid their fate of dying because maybe they are just afraid pf what might happen after you die. When I think of my fated death, I understand that I’m going to die someday and I just let fate decide how my life goes. I was fated to go to elementary school, middle school, high school, and college. I was fated to meet the people who are my friends or those who aren’t anymore. I was fated to get into some classes but not others. Our “free will” in my opinion is just another factor fate can play with. Going back to the topic of some people wanting to stall their fated death, some people just might want to avoid so that they can live their life to the fullest before they die; go to K-12, and college. They are fated to get some type of job or just stay home.

sfa

So by now, I think you should be able to know my opinion on fate. Do I believe in fate?

The answer is…. nope. I do believe in fate. I see fate in everyday life actions and their outcome. I have yet to experienced love but I do know that it will be fate that decides who I meet and end up with or maybe if I don’t meet anyone. It is also fate that I choose a certain path in my life. Whether I want to become a doctor, engineer, or any other jobs. I guess it just depends on fate.

Now one last question to ask, “Do you believe in fate and why?”

I can control my destiny, but not my fate. Destiny means there are opportunities to turn right or left, but fate is a one-way street. I believe we all have the choice as to whether we fulfil our destiny, but our fate is sealed. -Paulo Coelho

-Victoria


Credits: [red string of fate pic]

Leave a Reply

