POV: Left-handedness

Smeared ink. Elbow fights at the dining table. Binders, notebooks, the rings are like little devil horns stabbing me with every movement.

I’ve been writing left-handed all my life, minus that period in my life when I sprained my wrist and went right-handed (the ambidextrous game is strong), I’m a lefty. Of course, there were people who raised some eyebrows, such as my dad’s family, but my parents told me that whatever made me comfortable shouldn’t matter.

As a left-handed, I can tell you for sure that there are many disappointments, such as those listed above. But also as a left-handed, there are many joys too. So, I’m going to provide examples of both so that one may have an idea on how it really works.

The Bad:

1. Pens! Pencils! Markers! Everything smears and it hurts. This is also why I hate wearing long sleeves.

_20141009_202220

2. The desks with an arm rest for the right-handed people are impossible to love. When writing, I usually have to bend my arm around the desk. Awkward much?

CCDHS Classroom, Miles City by dave_mcmt, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  dave_mcmt 

3. Scissors are the natural enemy. How do right-handed people even use them? I have yet to figure that out._20141009_202507

The Radical:

1. I use my left-handedness as an excuse to hog up half the space at the dining table. Ah, yes, this half is mine unless you want an elbow war.

Baby Eating Green Beans From A Spoon And by bradleygee, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License   by  bradleygee 

2. Lefties are proven to make more than right-handed people (somewhat). That’s right, handedness can determine your pay.

3. There are a lot of famous people are left-handed! Barack Obama, Angelina Jolie, Scarlett Johansson, and Jon Stewart are a few. Show ’em, Mr. President!

by Samanthav321

At the end of the day, when I’m washing off the lead stains, I still appreciate the fact that I’m a lefty. It’s a unique trait that helps identify me, something that has made me who I am today. Yeah, there are inconveniences too, but everything good comes with a price.

P.S. If you’re a right-handed person reading this post, please give your left-handed friends a pat on the back. They deserve it.

-Ashley

4 thoughts on “POV: Left-handedness

  1. I’m pretty sure that this blog post is my life. Fellow lefty right here. Yes! I absolutely agree! I loved, first of all, the title. It’s really what made me want to open it because it had a really personal feel. I liked just the way you sounded writing this in general. It felt light, fun, and silly. I can’t think of anything that could improve this post. Good job on the use of pictures! You should have written also about the struggle that lefties have when we are forced into using our right hands. They are possibly the weakest extensions on the face of the planet. We might as well not have a right arm. There’s actually a pretty funny song about lefties. The lyrics are hilarious. Check it out: http://www.lefthandersday.com/tour/lefty-lament#.VEAq90pX-uY.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: LEFT HANDED STRUGGLES | The Little Things in Life

  3. Pingback: Stuck Between a Rock and Another Rock | A Cluster of Ideas

Leave a Reply

